Dubai World Cup 2012 Horse Racing Results

Monterosso, who was third in last year’s race, won Dubai world cup 2012. Monterosso, owned by Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum grabbed the $10 million price, which is known as the world’s highest price for horse racing. The race was held at Meydan Race Course in Dubai. Capponi became second and Planteur was third.

Other Interesting Facts

  • Winning jockey was Mickael Barzalona
  • Monterosso completed the race in 2 minutes 2.67 seconds.
  • Chantal Sutherland, the first female jockey in the World Cup race became 12th.
  • Monterosso’s odds were 20-1.

Previous Winners of Dubai World Cup

1997 – Singspiel (Ireland), owned by Sheikh Mohammed; clocked 2:01.91.
1998 – Silver Charm (USA), owned by Bob and Beverly Lewis; clocked 2:00.00.
1999 – Almutawakel (Great Britain), owned by Hamdan Al Maktoum; clocked 2:00.65.
2000 – Dubai Millennium (Great Britain), owned by Godolphin Racing; clocked 1:59.50.
2001 – Captain Steve (USA), owned by Michael E. Pegram; clocked 2:00.40.
2002 – Street Cry (Ireland), owned by Godolphin Racing; clocked 2:01.18.
2003 – Moon Ballad (Ireland), owned by Godolphin Racing; clocked 2:00.48.
2004 – Pleasantly Perfect (USA), owned by Diamond A Racing Corp.; clocked 2:00.24.
2005 – Roses in May (USA), owned by Ken and Sarah Ramsey; clocked 2:02.17.
2006 – Electrocutionist (USA), owned by Godolphin Racing; clocked 2:01.32.
2007 – Invasor (Argentina), owned by Shadwell Stable; clocked 1:59.97.
2008 – Curlin (USA), owned by Stonestreet/Midnight Cry Stables; clocked 2:00.15.
2009 – Well Armed (USA), owned by WinStar Farm LLC; clocked 2:01.01.
2010 – Glória De Campeão (Brazil), owned by Stefan Friborg clocked 2:03.83
2011 – Victoire Pisa (Japan), owned by Yoshimi Ichikawa clocked 2:05.94